Social bookmarks

Facebook Twitter Mister Wong digg yahoo YiGG

Embed code

x pixels

Permanent link

Recommend content

E-mail address: Message:

Track Backs

There are no websites linking to this medium at the moment.


FORTUNA WON'T BE FAUVEL'S MATCH! / Carmina Slovenica, director Karmina Šilec

  • from: filipcic marisa
  • uploaded: Mar 25, 2017
  • Hits: 87
  • Rating: 4.5 Rating: 4.5 Rating: 4.5 Rating: 4.5 Rating: 4.5 (4 Rating)


Flattery, Avarice, Vileness, Variability, Envy and Lechery

 Music: Lojze Lebi? (1934): Fauvel ’86 Excerpts from the work 

Roman de Fauvel (1310 – 1314)

Performing: Vocal theatre Carmina Slovenica

Conductor: Karmina Šilec

Narrator: Aleš Vali? (from the tape)

Musicians: Nino Mureški?, Žarko Ignjatovi?, Živa Horvat, Nadja Stegne

Fortuna Won’t Be Fauvel’s Match! is based on a gothic allegorical verse romance in which the central metaphor for moral decay and decadence is an ambitious horse/ass. The main character – Fauvel – is an incarnation of sin, irrationality, unreliability, dominance, flattery. Fortuna Won’t Be Fauvel’s Match! mocks human egotism, hedonism, hypocrisy and excesses of the governing classes, of secular as well as church rule, a society contaminated by sin and corruption. The ruling class is despotic and greedy, forgetting about the natural equality of people. Man through politics/the church is a symbol of everything that is wrong with our society and the system which administers it. This issue fascinates since it judges exploitations in the human society and poses the question if today, after 700 years, it is any easier to talk, or do we still whisper.

Director and set design: Karmina Šilec

Stage movement advisor: Sidra Bell (assistant Rebecca Margolick)

Costumes: Belinda Radulovi?

Cover images: Miguel Vallinas

Light design: Andrej Hajdinjak

Sound design: Danilo Ženko

Set design advisor: Marko Japelj

Show more Show less

Google Maps

Google maps is only available with javascript enabled in a compatible browser
2000 Maribor, Slovenia

Video CMS powered by ViMP (Ultimate) © 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010